Bethany College President Leads National Environmental Initiative

BETHANY, W.Va. — The American College and University Presidents Climate Commitment (ACUPCC) has elected Bethany College President Scott D. Miller to serve on the organization’s national Steering Committee. The Committee is comprised of a select number of ACUPCC-member college and university presidents committed to re-stabilizing the Earth’s climate by furthering environmental initiatives at educational institutions across the country.

“It is critical that we take an active role in ensuring a healthy, sustainable environment, and institutions of higher learning are in a unique position to do just that,” Miller stated. “The College increasingly seeks ways not only to better our own practices, but also to equip Bethany students — who help make up the world’s future leaders — with the knowledge and skills necessary to achieve environmental responsibility in the countless communities they will impact after passing through our gates.”

The ACUPCC is an effort to address global warming by empowering colleges and universities to model environmental responsibility by integrating sustainability into their curriculum and practices. Member institutions agree to implement tangible programs designed to help achieve climate neutrality and eventually eliminate campus net greenhouse gas emissions.

Along with Bethany, more than 670 institutions have made a commitment to ACUPCC. Members include higher learning institutions from all 50 states and the District of Columbia. Miller was a charter signatory during his previous post as President of Wesley College.

More information, including a list of participants, can be found at

Bethany College is a small college of national distinction located on a picturesque and historic 1,300-acre campus in the Northern Panhandle of West Virginia. Founded in 1840, Bethany is the state’s oldest private college.