Bethany’s Reilly Honored as Finalist for
West Virginia Professor of the Year 

Reilly.JPGBETHANY, W.Va. – Dr. Lisa Reilly, The Goulding-Woolery Professor in Chemistry and Associate Professor of Chemistry at Bethany College, was honored as one of five finalists for The Faculty Merit Foundation of West Virginia 2013 Professor of the Year during a banquet held in the Great Hall of the Culture Center in Charleston. 

This is the third time in five years that a Bethany professor has been chosen for the honor. Biology professors John Burns and Albert “Jay” R. Buckelew were finalists in 2008 and 2010, respectively.

"We are pleased that the Faculty Merit Foundation has again recognized the outstanding talent on our Bethany College faculty," said Dr. Scott D. Miller, President of the College.  "Dr. Reilly embodies Bethany's philosophy of outstanding teaching, advising and service to community. She devotes her full energy — inside and outside of the classroom — to enhancing the learning environment for our students."

Dr. Reilly has served on the Bethany faculty since 2008 and is currently chair of the Department of Physical Science and Mathematics.  She earned a Bachelor of Science degree in Chemistry from Mercyhurst College and a doctorate in Analytical Chemistry from Oklahoma State University.

In 2012 she received Bethany's prestigious President's Award for Excellence in Performance. She serves on a wide variety of campus committees and serves as advisor to the Student Government Association, Alpha Xi Delta sorority and the Gamma Sigma Epsilon Chemistry Honors Society.

The Faculty Merit Foundation announced Kateryna A.R. Schray, Ph.D., English professor for the Marshall University College of Liberal Arts, as the winner of its 2013 Professor of the Year award on Tuesday, March 11.

The Faculty Merit Foundation was created in 1984 to provide a means to recognize and reward innovation and creativity among the faculties of West Virginia’s public and private colleges and universities. Through the Professor of the Year program, the outstanding achievements of those individuals are brought to the attention of the general public. The Faculty Merit Foundation of West Virginia each year honors an outstanding faculty member at a West Virginia college or university. The award winner receives a $10,000 cash prize, with smaller awards to the other finalists. The Professor of the Year award is presented with financial support from United Bank.

Bethany College is a small college of national distinction located on a picturesque and historic campus in the Northern Panhandle of West Virginia. Founded in 1840, Bethany is the state’s oldest private college.